Tags

, , ,

FINAL PHOTO TAXATION OFFICE

 The taxation office;
a grimy old building
haunting  our dreams.

The Scylla and Charybdis  strait
devours  wretched wayfarers chasing life.
Their life is being worn down
like the soles of their shoes.

Anguish
Fear
Crashed  hopes
Bleeding  hearts…
The Hades of modern times.

“Don’t be stressed, tomorrow’s another day”,
the grim clerk darts out his tongue.
“Life gives out”,
a shaky old man mumbles away.

I , contemporary  Odysseus, row
my boat upstream
using  my life-dripping clepsydra
as  compass.

Time is giving out;
the number of lighted candles
ahead of me,  is dwindling.

Life is a precious gift
and ought to be led
with beauty and dignity.

O, Athena,
goddess of wisdom and justice,
will I ever reach my Ithaca?

© Ann Marie Zagorianos

